Atom Thai, Newtown

So there was a period of time when I had a fetish for Thai food. While searching for recommended Thai restaurants, I came across this restaurant called Atom Thai, situated along Newtown’s busiest main street. They offer a whole range of authentic Thai specialties at reasonable prices. Having been there once before with J and a second time with a group of girlfriends, I thought I’d take my parents there too. Japanese cuisine is always their first resort when dining out, not so much Thai so I thought this would be a good experience for them. It turned out as I had hoped – they loved it! Can’t wait to come back!

IMG_0507

Vegetarian curry puffs 4 pieces ($7.90)

A very light entree to get our taste buds ready. I loved the sauce! It was a sweet and sour taste with chopped cucumber and onion.

IMG_0510

Pad See Eaw ($13.90) – flat rice noodle, egg, sweet soy sauce, Chinese broccolo

So instead of the usual pad thai, we opted for a similar wok fried noodle dish. Tasted just as great!

IMG_0511

Beef salad ($18.90) – sliced grilled beef, chilli, mint, lemon juice, cucumber, onion, tomato, lemongrass

IMG_0518

Lamb curry with roti

I’m not a huge fan of curry, but this was exceptional. The lamb was soft and very well cooked. The curry itself did not have the thick coconut taste that I had imagined. It would have to be my favourite fish that day!

IMG_0523

Stir fried soft shell crab ($21.90) – soft sheel crab, Asian celery, fresh chilli, onion, capsicum, curry powder, stir fried, light batter

I guess this was my brother’s favourite dish as he ate most of it. My mum, however, thought it was too salty for her liking. I enjoyed it nevertheless!

Atom Thai

130 King st
Newtown NSW
(02) 9550 5965

http://www.atomthai.com.au

Atom Thai on Urbanspoon

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thegreatzambini
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 06:05:05

    Those curry puffs are about the most un-Thai thing I`ve ever seen. I could believe Indian, as they do those samosas… but Thai? The rest looks amazingly good and decently authentic.

    Reply

  2. Sam
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 23:43:20

    I actually ate dinner here last week – the soft shell crab was amazing!

    Reply

    • krispie.kremes.
      Feb 25, 2013 @ 23:22:06

      I agree! Have you tried the luv-a-duck curry? Also one of my favourites! Any other Thai restaurants you would recommend? :)

      Reply

      • Sam
        Feb 25, 2013 @ 23:50:42

        I haven’t tried the curry! But Duck is my absolute favourite of meats. The best duck I’ve ever had was from Billy Kwong in Surry Hills. Sailors Thai in Potts Point is my favourite x

      • krispie.kremes.
        Feb 26, 2013 @ 06:27:47

        Oh! I’ve walked past Sailors Thai a few times, but I’ve never tried it. It’s always got a dark and intimate setting inside. I’ll check it out some time :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

